Home The Church in China Seminaries
Nanjing Union Theological Seminary

History: Nanjing Union Theological Seminary is a nationwide protestant theological seminary in China. In November 1952, the Nanjing Theological Seminary merged with 11 theological seminaries and Bible schools in the East China, and the new seminary was renamed Nanjing Union Theological Seminary. Bishop K. H. Ting served as the first president of the seminary.

In 1961, the Yanjing Union Theological Seminary in Beijing also joined, since when the members of this joint educational institution increased to 12.

In 2001, commissioned by CCC&TSPM, Nanjing Union Theological Seminary opened a two-year Postgraduate Course for Christian Pastoral Ministry in China, with 30 young and middle-aged church leaders from different provinces and cities attending. By now, the course has been held for four sessions and the participants reached over 170 people.

Leadership: Rev. Dr. Gao Feng serves as the current president. Rev. Dr. Chen Yilu serves as the executive vice president, and Rev. Chen Bin as the vice president.

Curriculum: The undergraduate courses cover Bible studies, systematic theology, Christian history, and the history of Christian thoughts, practical theology and so forth. In addition, the seminary also organizes various forms of seminars and invites renowned scholars at home and abroad to give lectures, which motivates students and teachers to take an active part in academic seminars.

Open to students from all parts of the country, the seminary offers undergraduate, postgraduate and doctorate programs. It also opens Bible correspondence classes to satisfy the needs of churches across the country.


Faculty: The seminary now has 22 full-time teachers, including four professors, 11 associate professors and two lecturers. More than 90% of them have master’s degrees; eight are PhD holders and five are doctorate candidates.

Library collection: The seminary’s library owns nearly 50,000 kinds and 80,000 books, as well as more than 200 kinds of Chinese and overseas journals.

The library also has a resource center for Bible studies and a research center for the study of Chinese Christianity. A digital book database is under plan. The library’s Boya Reading Club holds regular activities, inviting experts from home and abroad to give lectures.

Students and graduates: Currently the seminary has nearly 500 on-campus undergraduate students (approximately 80%) and postgraduate students (over 20%, including doctorate students). So far, close to 3,000 theology students have finished their studies (including two with Doctor of Theology degree and three with Doctor of Ministry degree). The seminary’s Postgraduate Course for Christian Pastoral Ministry in China has trained more than 170 young and middle-aged clergy; the correspondent course now has recruited over 2,800 students.

Other ministries: The seminary publishes two journals: the academic quarterly journal Nanjing Theological Review and the bi-monthly journal Jiaocai (accessible by churches). Besides, it has also released nearly a hundred books on theology, spiritual devotion and biblical interpretation.